Skip to Content

Celebrating our nurses

The nurses at TriStar Health are committed to delivering excellence in patient care. We regularly honor our exemplary employees in this crucial healthcare role with the HCA Excellence in Nursing Awards, including the Compassionate Care Award.

TriStar Health celebrates our nurses and is committed to recognizing the work they do day-in and day-out. Awards are given out at the local hospital and enterprise level, ensuring not one act of service at our facilities goes unnoticed.

Interested in joining our culture of excellence? View our breadth of nursing career opportunities!

Local recognition

We express our gratitude to nurses who take initiative to perform additional responsibilities above and beyond their job description. Quarterly nomination programs at several facilities are an impactful way for us to recognize our everyday heroes. iCARE and DAISY Award presentations are hosted throughout the year in front of nurse’s colleagues, physicians, patients, family and visitors. It’s our way to spotlight nurses who embody our HCA culture and values.

HCA Excellence in Nursing

HCA Excellence in Nursing Awards recognize the intrinsic value of the nursing practice in accomplishing the company mission of providing the highest level of care to our patients. Each TriStar Health hospital spotlights two of its outstanding nurses on an annual basis for the following criteria:

Compassionate Care Award

Compassionate Care Award recipients exemplify providing compassionate, patient-centered, community-focused care. They push past the glass ceiling of everyday acts of kindness, acting as an advocate for their patients and giving them their all to get them through their hospital stay.

Professional Mentoring Award

Professional Mentoring Award recipients build off their past nursing experiences to mentor new nurses, showing servant leadership to their colleagues. They go the extra mile to ensure confidence, education and professional development are of the utmost priority in the nursing practice.

HCA Unit of Distinction

HCA Unit of Distinction Award is the highest honor a hospital’s medical-surgical department can receive. Medical-surgical nursing is the heart of patient care in our hospitals and we recognize our units on an enterprise level for improved patient outcomes and exemplary nursing performance in clinical practice.

National recognition

As a leader in the field of nursing, our nurses are nationally recognized for their dedication, compassion and high-quality care. The American Nurses Credentialing Center recognizes TriStar Summit Medical Center as a designated Pathway to Excellence facility. TriStar Summit is one of two hospitals in the state of Tennessee and the only HCA Healthcare hospital in Tennessee to receive the prestigious recognition for cultivating a positive work environment with supportive policies, procedures and culture for nurses.