Skip to Content

Trauma center

Trauma centers provide highly-trained physicians, specialists, critical care nurses and support staff who are available around the clock to care for your most serious healthcare needs. Trauma centers often provide burn care for individuals suffering from minor to severe burns.


Trauma care in greater Nashville, Tennessee

Time is critical during a medical crisis, so our trauma centers are ready 24/7.

TriStar Health's trauma centers are staffed by trauma surgeons, neurosurgeons, orthopedic surgeons and specially trained trauma nurses. This ensures you get the comprehensive care you need.

Looking for a location?

View All Specialty Locations

Related specialties

Learn more about our related specialties.

Conditions treated in a trauma center

Trauma centers are specialized units within an ER that are equipped to treat major traumatic injuries, including:

  • Brain damage
  • Blunt trauma
  • Burns
  • Crush injuries
  • Piercing wounds
  • Spine fractures

Types of trauma centers

Our trauma centers range from Level I to Level V, as designated by the American College of Surgeons and the Tennessee Board for Licensing Health Care Facilities.

Trauma center classifications

All of our trauma centers use specialized equipment to treat traumatic injuries that can cause disability or death, such as spine fractures, brain damage and piercing wounds.

Level II trauma center

TriStar Skyline Medical Center in Nashville has a Level II Trauma Center, meaning hospital staff can treat your most severe medical emergencies. To receive a Level II classification, a trauma center must:

  • Have 24-hour immediate coverage from
    • General surgeons
    • Orthopedic surgeons
    • Neurosurgeons
    • Anesthesiologists
    • Emergency physicians
    • Radiologists
  • Offer specialized care, such as cardiac surgery

Level III trauma centers

TriStar Horizon Medical Center, TriStar StoneCrest Medical Center and TriStar Summit Medical Center have Level III Trauma Centers. Level III offers you the following specialized care:

  • Provide prompt emergency services, including stabilization, resuscitation, surgery and intensive care.
  • Have 24-hour emergency coverage from physicians, general surgeons and anesthesiologists
  • Provide back-up care for local hospitals

Dedicated trauma emergency rooms (ERs)

In addition to our trauma centers listed above, several TriStar Health hospitals have specialized trauma ERs that allow doctors and nurses to stabilize patients with traumatic injuries and continue administer care. We will also determine whether we should move a patient to a trauma center for treatment.

Thrive Blog

Read our blogs to learn about preventive care and ways you can lead a healthier lifestyle.

Simple steps to water safety 

July 15, 2022
TriStar Health encourages you to stay cool while staying safe in and around the water. Check out these steps to learn how.

Simple steps to water safety 

July 15, 2022
TriStar Health encourages you to stay cool while staying safe in and around the water. Check out these steps to learn how.

Summer injuries and illnesses: ER or urgent care? 

June 13, 2022
From heat illnesses to tick bites — knowing whether to go to the emergency room or urgent care could save you time and money this summer.

BE FAST: Know the signs and symptoms of a stroke 

April 28, 2022
May is Stroke Awareness Month, and experts say spotting signs and symptoms could help save someone's life.